Jan 02

The WTCR circuits of 2018

Here’s a short summary of each one

The WTCR circuits of 2018Nine venues have so far been included on the provisional FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) schedule for 2018. 

Circuit Moulay El Hassan (Marrakech), 7-8 April: Transformed from street circuit to semi-permanent race track for 2016, Circuit Moulay El Hassan is located in the heart of Marrakech’s bustling hotel district. Built to FIA Grade II standards, the layout is the work of Hermann Tilke’s renowned architecture agency and offers impressive views of the Atlas Mountains and Marrakech city wall. But with a compact lap of 2.971 kilometres (down from 4.545km) and a sprinkling of tight, wall-lined turns, there will be no time for WTCR drivers to take in the scenery when the venue opens the 2018 season. Morocco’s top racer, Mehdi Bennani, attracts a fervent following.

Hungaroring, 28-29 April: Located less than 20 kilometres northeast of Budapest, the Hungaroring is famed for hosting the first Formula One grand prix behind the old Iron Curtain in 1986. Ever-present on the F1 calendar since, the Hungaroring has also become a popular venue for world touring car racing, particularly since the emergence of Norbert Michelisz as a local hero and especially following his pole-to-flag victory in 2015. Resurfaced for 2016 with re-profiled kerbing to boot, the track blends tight turns and fast sweeps while its valley location makes for an initial descent before a climb back up to the high-speed Turn 4.

The complete article here on fiawtcc.com

source: fiawtcc.com