Dec 15

RX2 champion Raymond given French Motorsport Award

Raymond is the first rallycross driver to receive the award

2017-08-06_1252France’s Cyril Raymond claimed the prestigious Golden Wheel award at the French ASN (FFSA)’s annual awards ceremony earlier this week.

The 2017 RX2 International Series champion, the single-make support category to the FIA World Rallycross Championship, joined Formula One drivers Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon, and World Rally Champion Sebastien Ogier by being honoured at the event.

Raymond is the first rallycross driver to receive the award. “It’s a huge honour to win this. Only the ‘legend’ drivers win this prestigious trophy and I’m so happy for the rallycross too. It was sensational to be on the podium with drivers like Pierre Gasly, Esteban Ocon and Seb Ogier. This is a huge award for my personal career and for French rallycross,” he said.

FIA President Jean Todt, motorsport legends Jean Ragnotti and Jean Alesi were also at the occasion in Paris, along with French drivers from throughout the motorsport world. “The French Federation always talked about Formula One and rally, but rallycross is beginning to become very important in France and around the world. IMG and RX2 are doing a really good job for getting rallycross recognised. I think we are the future of motorsport.”

The complete article here on fiaworldrallycross.com

source: fiaworldrallycross.com