Oct 21

ELMS: A high intensity 2017 season finale shaping up for Portimão, Portugal

Portimão Free Practice 2: G-Drive Racing on top

ELMS - A high intensity 2017 season finale shaping up for Portimão, PortugalThe final battle for the titles in each of the three classes of the European Le Mans Series will play out at the season finale in Portimão, Portugal. Like at Spa-Francorchamps, the next-to-last round of the season, as many as 35 wins will comprise the starting grid.

For the first time since 2010, back when it was simply called the Le Mans Series, the European Le Mans Series (ELMS) will return to the circuit in Portimão, located near Algarve in the south of Portugal, serving as a replacement for the Estoril circuit that first figured on the ELMS calendar in 2014 as the closing round of the season.

The entry list includes six modifications to the composition of driver line-ups, with the arrival of Ricardo Sanchez at the wheel of Graff Racing’s #39 ORECA 07, the only change in the LMP2 class. In LMP3, two drivers – the Russian Timur Boguslavskiy in By Speed Factory’s #5 Ligier JS P3 and Italian driver Andrea Dromedari at the wheel of Eurointernational’s #11 Ligier JS P3 – will make their respective debuts, and Frenchman Erwin Creed will return in the M.Racing – YMR team’s #19 Norma M30 along with Yann Ehrlacher, the nephew of former Touring Car World Champion Yvan Muller. Lastly, in LMGTE, on the heels of his win at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in LMGTE Am, Will Stevens will take the wheel once again in JMW Motorsport’s #66 Ferrari 488 GTE, and German driver Immanuel Vinke will race Beechdean AMR’s #99 Aston Martin Vantage.

The complete article here on lemans.org

source:  lemans.org


Portimão Free Practice 2: G-Drive Racing on top

The second Free Practice session of the 4 Hours of Portimão took place this morning under the sunny sky of Portugal and the championship leader G-Drive Racing set the pace of the session.

Ryo Hirakawa was the quickest of the three drivers of the n°22 G-Drive Racing Oreca 07 Gibson with a 1:34:034 lap, quicker than the best lap of Nicolas Lapierre (DragonSpeed n°21) yesterday during the first free practice session. 0.324s behind we find the n°21 DragonSpeed Oreca Gibson with a best lap in 1:34.358 set by Nicolas Lapierre. Just before the end of the session Henrik Hedman spun at T4 and rejoined directly the track. On third position we find the n°40 Graff Oreca 07 driven by James Allen, Gustavo Yacaman and Richard Bradley that set a time of 1:34.459.

The title contenders, the n°32 United Autosports Ligier is in fifth position, 1.224s behind the leading car.

In the LMP3 class, the quickest car was the title contender M.Racing – YMR n°18 Ligier driven by Alexandre Cougnaud, Antoine Jung and Romano Ricci with a lap in 1.41.124 by Alexandre Cougnaud. They are followed by the n°3 Ligier JSP3 of United Autosports (Wayne Boyd/ Mark Patterson) only 22 tenth behind the first car of the class. Antonin Borga was the third quickest at the wheel of the n°7 Duqueine Engineering Norma M-30. The ncrew of the n°2 United Autosports Ligier, leader of the LMP3 provisional classifications only managed to be 7th during this second free practice session.

The complete article here on europeanlemansseries.com

source:  europeanlemansseries.com