Sep 22

Pedrosa conquers mixed conditions for P1 at Aragon

Number 26 the only man under the two minute barrier after a rain-affected and damp day

Dani Pedrosa was the only rider to go below the 2 minute mark todayDani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) is the man with a target on his back after Day 1 at the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragon, as the 2012 winner at the track went fastest in FP2 to top the combined timesheets on – the only man under the two minute barrier after weather affected track time for the premier class.


Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) was second quickest after similarly striking late on in the second session, ahead of rookie Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3).

FP1 was fully wet and saw reigning Champion Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) hit the ground running to go quickest, and the local rider was fourth overall after FP2. The skies were largely dry for the second session, but riders remained on rain tyres with some parts of the track much wetter than others and spray kicking up. That’s when Pedrosa and Lorenzo shone and laptimes improved, with the man in fifth also impressing – Pull&Bear Aspar Team’s Karel Abraham.

The biggest story of the day, however, belonged to Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), who ventured out in the wet in FP1 to put in some laps and test his fitness, then managing another 13 laps in FP2. The ‘Doctor’ suffered one run off but did over 20 laps on Day 1 as he attempts to race in the Aragon GP after missing only Misano due to his broken leg.

Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) had a good first day to go P6, ahead of compatriot Sam Lowes (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) in an impressive seventh – the man who won the intermediate class race at the track last season. Championship challenger Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) had a more muted Day 1 on the timesheets for eighth overall, just ahead of the second Aprilia of Aleix Espargaro. His brother Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) was another top performer on Day 1, locking out the top ten on the KTM.

Alvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team), Jack Miller (EG 0,0 Marc VDS), Bradley Smith (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), Andrea Iannone (Team Suzuki Ecstar) and wildcard KTM test rider Mika Kallio (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) – who was fifth in the wetter FP1 session – completed the top fifteen on combined times for Friday.

With weather set to change for tomorrow – and improve – it’s now all eyes on the sky for FP3 and direct entry to Q2, and then qualifying from 14:10 (GMT + 1).

Pasini heads Morbidelli at MotorLand

Two Italians dominate again on Day 1 with Morbidelli and Pasini top of the timesheet

As Moto2 ™ wrapped up their second Free Practice session at the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón, it was a case of history repeating with Mattia Pasini (Italtrans Racing Team) taking P1 while battling current Championship leader Franco Morbidelli (EG 0,0 Marc VDS). Finishing just 0.194 behind his fellow Italian, Morbidelli again secured P2 from Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia), as the trio closed out Day 1 in the same order as the recent Misano GP.

Not able to break through to the 54’s – Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) still enjoyed a quick second session to take P4 in front of Simone Corsi (Speed Up Racing). Corsi improved lap times considerably during a dry FP2, jumping to fifth overall as the chequered flag dropped and pushed Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Ajo) into sixth place.

Jorge Navarro (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) was the only incident during FP2 – losing the front and falling at turn 12 in the very final minute. However, before crashing out, the Spaniard did manage to secure P7 on the timesheets, as well as the being the fastest rookie. Tom Lüthi (CarXpert Interwetten) lost race pace as the rain cleared and finished eighth over the combined sessions, with the top 10 completed by Tech 3 Racing’s Xavi Vierge in ninth and Pons HP40 rider Fabio Quartararo in the tenth position.

Marcel Schrotter (Dynavolt Intact GP) held P11 at the close of Day 1, the German rider 0.044 seconds ahead of Misano GP winner Dominique Aegerter (Kiefer Racing) in P12. Stefano Manzi (SKY Racing Team VR46) improved on his FP1 position to take P13, followed by rookie riders Augusto Fernandez (Speed up Racing) in fourteenth and Iker Lecuona (Garage Plus Interwetten) in fifteenth.

Moto2™ qualify from 15:05 (GMT +2).

Close company: Canet heads Mir by thousandths on Friday

EG 0,0 rider fastest in FP1 and remains unchallenged to top combined timesheets – just thousandths ahead of key rival Mir
Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0) topped Day 1 of the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragon, with his fastest lap from the morning session remaining the quickest on the combined timesheets after some rain in the mid part of the day. FP2 began wet and then subsequently dried out, but with times remaining slower than FP1. The Spaniard was quickest from compatriot and Championship leader Joan Mir (Leopard Racing) by only thousandths overall, and the slightly slower laptimes for both riders put them 1-2 again on the slower timesheets in FP2 – but in reverse order.

Niccolo Antonelli (Red Bull KTM Ajo) got the Aragon GP off to a good start as he was third overall with his lap from FP1, and backed that up with P5 in the afternoon. Enea Bastianini (Estrella Galicia 0,0) also had good pace, P4 on combined timesheets from the morning and third quickest later in the day.

Jorge Martin (Del Conca Gresini Moto3) completes the top five on Day 1 from his home GP, and the Spaniard sat out the majority of FP2 to not run the risk in the conditions, venturing out once the track was dry.

Nicolo Bulega (Sky Racing Team VR46), Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) and Bo Bendsneyder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) were P6 to P8 respectively, with title challenger Romano Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers) in ninth. Marcos Ramirez (Platinum Bay Real Estate) completed the top ten.

Dennis Foggia (Sky Junior Team VR46 Academy) had an impressive first day as a wildcard in eleventh, ahead of rookie Ayumu Sasaki (SIC Racing Team). Sasaki was the first of the improvers and took P12 with his FP2 laptime. Marco Bezzecchi (CIP) was another to move up in the afternoon and was thirteenth quickest, with compatriots Andrea Migno (Sky Racing Team VR46) – recently announced at Aspar in the category next year – and Fabio Di Giannantonio (Del Conca Gresini Moto3) locking out the fastest fifteen in Friday.

The lightweight class qualify at 12:35 (GMT +2).

source: MotoGP, motogp.com