May 07

Monza awaits the eni FIM Superbike World Championship

Riders ready to take on the fastest track in the calendar

Monza logoThe eni FIM Superbike World Championship returns to Monza’s Autodromo Nazionale for the 4th round of the season.

Following the two races at Assen, Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) is still the Championship leader at 111. The Frenchman, who ended his 7 podium-finish streak in race 2, is now looking forward to riding his works RSV4 on a track that exalts the top-speed of the vee-four Aprilia engine.

Guintoli will have to face fierce competition from a trio of riders ready to challenge him for the lead: team mate Eugene Laverty, double winner at Monza two years ago – in his rookie season – and boosted by the outstanding race 2 win of the last round, is tied in points at 83 with Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet) – who dominated in 2011 the weekend in Supersport thanks to a pole position, a win and the fastest lap – and Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), the latest race winner at Monza.

Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike) welcomes Kousuke Akiyoshi, former team mate in last year’s Suzuka 8 Hour win, who has been selected as substitute for injured Leon Haslam for the upcoming round, while the British rider is speeding up his recovery in order to race at Donington Park later this month. Rea and the team can count on the experience of the 38 year old from Japan – HRC official test rider – to further improve the CBR1000RR after some good indications from the recent two-day test at Assen.

First of two home races for Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet), who is back from the unfortunate Sunday at Assen, and for Michel Fabrizio, who scored his maiden World Superbike race win in 2009 at Monza (race 1).

Good memories for Jules Cluzel (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) from last year’s victory in the Supersport race – his career’s first top-step finish in the series. Carlos Checa and Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) are about to face a tough challenge on a track that didn’t suit well the Ducati bikes in recent times. The 1199 Panigale R, though, will feature a 52mm air restrictor as per FIM regulations about the performance balance between twin and four-cylinder machines (article – also confirmed on a note last April, 28 after race 2 at Assen TT Circuit).

Standings: 1. Guintoli (Aprilia) 111; 2. Laverty (Aprilia) 83; 3. Davies (BMW) 83; 4. Sykes (Kawasaki) 83; 5. Rea (Honda) 63; 6. Baz (Kawasaki) 58; 7. Fabrizio (Aprilia) 53; 8. Melandri (BMW) 51; 9. Cluzel (Suzuki) 41; 10. Giugliano (Aprilia) 33; 11. Camier (Suzuki) 30; 12. Checa (Ducati) 29; 13. Haslam (Honda) 29; 14. Neukirchner (Ducati) 29; 15. Badovini (Ducati) 20; etc.

World Supersport

Following the close two-way battle at Assen, Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Motorsport Yamaha) and Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki) will be back on the track that saw both riders completing the podium behind race winner – and now World Superbike rookie – Jules Cluzel. The reigning Champion from Turkey, scored his only victory so far at Monza in 2007 (his first title season).

Championship leader Fabien Foret (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki), known for not being at ease on wet track conditions, hopes to find good weather to score another positive result on a favourable track for the French veteran – who won in 2002 and 2008, was 2nd in 2007 and 3rd in 2009 and 2011.

2nd place in the standings Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) has never managed – in the two years racing STK600 – to achieve a podium finish at Monza. Team mate Lorenzo Zanetti, on the other hand, scored his first and only victory in 2011 by finishing the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup race with just 0.065 seconds margin over Davide Giugliano (title winner at the end of the year).

Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) has bad memories of his home-track from 2007, when he was racing with Honda in the Superbike class. Italian was forced to pull in from race 1 during the final lap, while he was in 2nd place.

Standings: 1. Foret (Kawasaki) 54; 2. Vd Mark (Honda) 49; 3. Lowes (Yamaha) 45; 4. Sofuoglu (Yamaha) 45; 5. Antonelli (Kawasaki) 29; 6. Scassa (Kawasaki) 26; 7. Zanetti (Honda) 24; 8. Kennedy (Honda) 24; 9. Rolfo (MV Agusta) 17; 10. Roccoli (Yamaha) 14; 11. Russo (Kawasaki) 13; 12. Leonov (Yamaha) 12; 13. Marino (Kawasaki) 11; 14. Salom (Kawasaki) 11; 15. Coghlan 11 (Kawasaki); etc.

Superstock 1000

Last year’s STK1000 race at Monza was a turn of events after the first two rounds of domination by Sylvain Barrier. The defending Champion and current leader tackled the race with a dislocated shoulder and, despite his effort to finish the 11-lap race, had a crash at “Variante Ascari” that worsened his injury and led to his first DNF of the season.

Lorenzo Savadori won the race, and rode the 1199 Panigale to an historical first win. The Italian rider, now with Team Pedercini Kawasaki, is still looking for an encouraging result after the tough start of the season. Eddi La Marra (Barni Racing Ducati), on the contrary, appears to be in great shape and – after the outstanding race win at Assen – lies now 2nd in the standings, tied in points with team mate Niccolò Canepa.

Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini Kawasaki) and Jeremy Guarnoni (MRS Kawasaki) could also play a part in the battle for the top-3.

Standings: 1. Barrier (BMW) 45; 2. La Marra (Ducati) 36; 3. Canepa (Ducati) 36; 4. Mercado (Kawasaki) 29; 5. Guarnoni (Kawasaki) 24; 6. Lanusse (Kawasaki) 20; 7. Jezek (Ducati) 18; 8. Bussolotti (BMW) 14; 9. Savadori (Kawasaki) 8; 10. Bergman (Kawasaki) 7; 11. Ferrer (BMW) 7; 12. Gildenhuys (BMW) 6; 13. Andreozzi (Kawasaki) 6; 14. Lussiana (Kawasaki) 5; 15. McFadden (Honda) 5; etc.

Superstock 600

Current leader Gauthier Duwelz (MTM Racing Yamaha) is the man on the move after winning the first two races of the season. Last year at Monza the young Belgian was 2nd at the chequered flag behind Riccardo Russo – who’s now racing in Supersport – and ahead of Swiss Bastien Chesaux (EAB Ten Kate Junior Team Honda).

Duwelz will have to face the internal rivalry by team mates Adrian Nestorovic – who was in contention for the win up to last turn at Assen – and Robin Mulhauser, with Tony Covena (Nito Racing Kawasaki) ready to challenge for a podium finish.

Christian Gamarino (Team GoEleven Kawasaki), Franco Morbidelli (San Carlo Team Italia Kawasaki), Stefano Casalotti (VFR Racing Yamaha) e Nicola Morrentino (Team Trasimeno Yamaha) are expected to play a part at the front in their home round.

Standings: 1. Duwelz (Yamaha) 50; 2. Chesaux (Honda) 32; 3. Nestorovic (Yamaha) 31; 4. Coveña (Kawasaki) 30; 5. Mulhauser (Yamaha) 20; 6. Gamarino (Kawasaki) 20; 7. Tessels (Suzuki) 19; 8. Morbidelli (Kawasaki) 19; 9. Casalotti (Yamaha) 14; 10. Morrentino (Yamaha) 8; 11. Schmitter (Yamaha) 7; 12. Marchal (Yamaha) 5; 13. Nekvasil (MV Agusta9 5; 14. Nocco (Kawsaki) 4; 15. Tuuli (Yamaha) 4; etc.

European Junior Cup

The Pata European Junior Cup, powered by Honda already showed some unpredictable and close racing, with two riders able to secure a win so far in the first two rounds and Italian Michael Canducci (Colors Experience) – current Championship leader – who proved to be the most consistent by finishing both races in 3rd place.

Before an almost 7-week break until the 4th round at Imola (June 30th), the youngsters participating in the one-make entry level series will face the challenge of Monza’s Autodromo Nazionale. Another spectacular race is expected, given the balance in performance of the identical CBR500R available to the riders and the importance of slipstreaming on the northern Italy circuit.

Standings: 1. Canducci 32; 2. Bendsneijder 25; 3. Lewis 25; 4. Raymond 23; 5. Sebestyen 21; 6. Fernandez 20; 7. Arenas 20; 8. Manfredi 18; 9. Fernandez 17; 10. Anne 13; 11. Mykhalchyk 11; 12. Levy 10; 13. Pittet 9; 14. Rusmiputro 9; 15. Orellana 9; etc.

source: worldsbk.com