Feb 24

Terry Wahl Honoured by the Grand Prix of Valcourt Organizing Committee

Grand Prix Ski-Doo of Valcourt Presented by FOX

2013-02-17_05262013-02-17_0524Winner of six Grands Prix Ski-Doo of Valcourt presented by FOX, snowmobile rider Terry Wahl of Greenbush, Minnesota was honoured at the 31st running of the Grand Prix during an official ceremony which saw his name and number raised atop the Golden Grandstand of Circuit Yvon Duhamel, alongside other great names in snowmobile racing.

Terry Wahl’s achievements on the Grand Prix ice oval speed track are unparalleled, with six major victories in the main event, five of which were consecutive from 1995 to 1999. Over the course of the 31 editions of the Great Quebec Winter Motorsport Classic, only four other snowmobile riders had been honoured by the organizing committee of the Grand Prix: Gary Vessair (#45); Mike Houle (#22); Terry’s uncle, David Wahl (#74); and the late Jim Herzig (#45). Terry Wahl (#47) has now joined this select group.

During the official ceremony that preceded the grand finale of the Grand Prix, Marcel Fontaine, who was director of operations of the event for 30 years, presented a commemorative plaque to Terry Wahl, while Donald Lemay, President of the Grand Prix of Valcourt gave Terry a copy of the speech celebrating his achievements.


Over the course of their illustrious career in Valcourt, three members of the Wahl racing family have won 13 of the 31 Grands Prix Ski-Doo of Valcourt: four wins by David between 1988 and 1994, six by David’s nephew Terry, between 1995 and 2003, and three from David’s son Dustin in 2008 and 2009 and in 2012.

Nick Van Strydonk of Tomahawk, Wisconsin was the winner of the 2013 edition of the Grand Prix of Valcourt. The organizing committee the Grand Prix Ski-Doo of Valcourt presented by FOX is now hard at work preparing the next edition which is scheduled for February 14-16, 2014.

source: grandprixvalcourt.com