Sep 30

Adams Jones, Nate Adams and Ben Milot shine in freestyle

Monster Energy Supermotocross American Matt Goerke is the King of the 2012

2012-09-29_14632012-09-29_1465After winning earlier his MX1 class for the second year in-a-row, Californian Matt Goerke was ready for an encore in the Monster Energy Grand Finale at the Monster Energy Supermotocross, presented by Parts Canada/Thor, on Saturday, September 29.

(Flagworld’s photo album)

On a shorter track, the match between the top MX2 and MX1 riders proved to be an interesting outing, but eventually, the more powerful 450 cc MX1 bikes swept the podium. Again, as he did in his earlier race, Goerke led all 13 laps to finish eight seconds ahead New Yorker Bobby Kiniry. Third place went to Teddy Maier of Iowa, his first podium finish of the night. Fourth place went to MX2 rider Cole Thompson, who had won the MX2 class race earlier in the night, Thompson of Bridgen, Ontario finished ahead of MX1 rider Tyler Medaglia of Ottawa and Dusty Klatt of British-Colombia. MX2 rider Kaven Benoît took seventh ahead of Jeremy Medaglia.

Californian Matt Goerke Repeats as MX1 class winner
While last year’s MX1 class Supermotocross winner ran away from the field to win his second successive title, it was mayhem behind the newly crowned Canadian champion Matt Goerke. Drivers exchanged positions on every lap for the first nine of the 12-lap affair before settling for the next two with Bobby Kiniry in second place behind Goerke, Tyler Bowers who hails from Kentucky was third, followed by Teddy Maier and Tyler Madelia. On the last jump leading to the checkered flag, Bowers flew right by Kiniry to finish second behind Californian Goerke. A disappointed Kiniry could not believe his eyes with Bowers leap of faith to the finish line. Maier, Klatt and Medaglia followed Kiniry. Twenty-one bikes took the start.
MX2: Cole Thompson wins his first in Montréal

In the MX2 250cc class, 18-year old Cole Thompson won his first-ever Montreal Supermotocross event edging last year’s winner Jeremy Medaglia. Third place went to Tim Tremblay of Saguenay, Quebec ahead of 2010 Montreal class winner Kaven Benoît of Notre-Dame due Bon-Conceal. Third at the start, Benoît dropped to ninth before staging a come back that saw him finish fourth, followed by Dylan Kaelin.

Charles-Antoine Villeneuve Wins in Side-by-Side

Charles-Antoine Villeneuve had the best start of the Side-By-Side race and never looked back on his way to his first Supermotocross win. Fourth in the final Quebec championship standings, he led home Eric Paquin. It was a Polaris podium with Didier Raby finishing third. Quebec racecar drivers Patrick Carpentier and Alex Tagliani were running well until the start of lap seven. Carpentier was third and Tagliani sixth and charging when both retired with mechanical problems. Even though the two drivers only had a couple of days of training on their newly built machines, they held their own as they charged though the field of veteran drivers.

American drivers sweep the top four places in VTT

Richard Pelchat was hoping for a second consecutive win in Montreal, but he had to settle for fifth place as American Chad Wienen had something else in mind easily winning ahead of Thomas Brown by nearly eight seconds. Third place went to Josh Creamer, followed by fellow American John Natalie.

In the CF Moto Quad Celebrity race Simon Dion-Viens was a clear winner ahead of Patrick Benoit and John Bartlett. The race had an unusual twist as each racer was coupled with a co-driver. A few of them had their world turned upside down as their CF Moto flipped during the race with the quad landing on its rook. Everyone walked out of their UTVs.

source: Max d’Orsonnens