Apr 29

Formula 3 Euro Series races in the Tuscany

Mika Mäki (Mücke Motorsport) championship leader

This weekend, the Formula 3 Euro Series is going to contest the third and fourth rounds of its 2008 season on Mugello’s 5.245-kilometre circuit.

Finland’s Mika Mäki (Mücke Motorsport) travels to Italy as championship leader but Volkswagen driver Edoardo Mortara (Signature-Plus) in second position has got the same amount of points on his tally – and is determined to also deliver in his home event.

The same applies to Prema Powerteam that has made a very good start into the season, too, and also might benefit from the home-circuit advantage, in Italy.

Mortara gave his engine partner Volkswagen two podium finishes right at the beginning of their first full Formula 3 Euro Series season. But it wasn’t Mortara alone who delivered in impressive style at the Hockenheimring.

At the same time, the entire Volkswagen squad proved to be extremely competitive. Franck Mailleux (Signature-Plus) finished fourth in both races and behind the best Prema driver, Charlie Kimball, he holds fourth position in the championship.

Nico Hülkenberg (ART Grand Prix), however, encountered a disastrous season kick-off. In both rounds, technical problems made an early end to the race of the German who has already been signed as Formula 1 test driver by Team Williams Toyota. Hence, he scored just one point at Hockenheim for having set the fastest qualifying lap.

Edoardo Mortara (Signature-Plus): “Mugello’s racetrack is a 5.245-kilomettre rollercoaster. I’m travelling with slightly mixed emotions to the venue of the forthcoming two rounds as we had major problems when it came to finding a good set-up for Mugello, in 2007.

“I hope that we will do better, this year. It’s my goal to score points in every single race and quite obviously, I also want to do so in the Tuscany. I often execute my training programme close to Mugello, hence, there will be a lot of my friends attending the race to cheer for me.”

Track length: 5.245 kilometres
Lap record: 1:44.003 min / Nico Hülkenberg, 2007
Distance: 21 laps
Winners 2007: Romain Grosjean / Franck Mailleux

source: f3euroseries.com